On Cleaning Out “The Drawer”

Posted: March 16, 2014 in Piano

Today is cold and grey. That is not so bad except that yesterday was like spring. So now I am spoiled. I have to find something to do. I will wait until it is warm again to plant the flowers I bought yesterday. Instead, I am cleaning out the drawer. As in THE drawer, the one you throw everything in “for now” with the clear intention of putting stuff away later. That day has arrived.

The Drawer. Everyone has one of these, and they all have great surprises in them.

The Drawer. Everyone has one of these, and they all have great surprises in them.

I have this extra piano top (doesn’t everyone?) which I am using as a workbench until I build my hard rock maple workbench. I can’t just DUMP the contents of the drawer onto the table, because there MIGHT be something valuable in there. Instead, I remove items one at a time – and since I have to put them somewhere else, I stack them into groups of similar items.

Part of the challenge of cleaning out “The Drawer” is that there is evidence in there: evidence that might PROVE that you put things off for a very long time!

I noticed a few items that I might be able to throw away. There is the wrench bracket to the wrenches that I found in Bill Scott’s MG that I bought and was going to rebuild. The car is gone. The wrenches are gone. Bill passed away. I think I can throw away the wrench bracket.

On the table I see a violin rosin bag, a pile of extra screwdrivers, a 23mm wrench that goes to the camshaft of a Nissan Axxess, which was sold five years ago or more. A fret saw for the guitar I was going to build ten years ago. A file stuck in a handle I made, which is crooked. A plane blade for a plane I do not have.  There is double-sided tape that is not sticky on either side, a 1/64th drill bit for drilling holes in banjo necks in order to insert an HO scale railroad tie in order to create a capo for the 5th string. I have a bag of HO scale railroad ties too – 500 count.

Who needs a scrapbook when you can walk down memory lane in an old tool drawer.

Who needs a scrapbook when you can walk down memory lane in an old tool drawer.

Then there are a few light bulbs to the 1976 Chevy truck I used to own. I better keep those, because you just never know when you are going to own a 1976 Chevy truck again. I see a pair of rubber feet that go with my K & M synth stand, a candle stick for lubing wooden drawers, and a sample pack of Varthane stain. All good stuff. I even have a labeler, in case I want to label something. I don’t want to mention names, but someone called “my daughter” got me that labeler and wanted me to label everything in the shop. So I made a label that read “wall” and another one that read “phone” and I kept adding labels to things like that until she left me alone. I might use that labeler someday, so I am going to hang onto it for now.

And I am going to hang onto a lot of other stuff in that drawer too. Because you never know when you might need an extra pair of venetian blind brackets, a slightly hardened stain brush, a glass cutter, a rusted Phillips stubby screwdriver, or two tubes of hardened JB Weld.

You just never know.

Comments are closed.